Friday, June 23, 2017

AN EAGLE IN THE SNOW by Michael Morpurgo | Review

29243736AN EAGLE IN THE SNOW
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Publish Date: January 17th 2017 (first published October 1st 2015)
Page Amount: 144 Pages
Price: $16.99 Hardback
ISBN: 1250105153 (ISBN13: 9781250105158)
Order AN EAGLE IN THE SNOW!
Cover and Summary of the book are from Goodreads.

The extraordinary story of the man who could have stopped World War Two. A beautiful moral thriller from one of the world’s favourite storytellers.

1940 . . Barney and his mother, their home destroyed by bombing, are travelling to the country when their train is forced to shelter in a tunnel from attacking German planes. There, in the darkness, a stranger on the train begins to tell them a story. A story about Billy Byron, the most decorated soldier of WW1, who once had the chance to end the war before it even began, and how he tried to fix his mistake. But sometimes the right thing is hard to see – and even harder to live with…

Friday, June 16, 2017

LOOKING FOR GROUP by Rory Harrison | Review

30653934
LOOKING FOR GROUP
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publish Date: April 25th 2017
Page Amount: 368 Pages
Price: $17.99 Hardback
ISBN: 0062453076 (ISBN13: 9780062453075) 
Order LOOKING FOR GROUP!
Cover and Summary of the book are from Goodreads.

Looking for group for the quest of a lifetime.

Dylan doesn’t have a lot of experience with comfort. His room in the falling-down Village Estates can generously be categorized as “squalid,” and he sure as hell isn’t getting any love from his mother, who seemed to—no, definitely did—enjoy the perks that went along with being the parent of a “cancer kid.”

Now that Dylan’s suddenly in remission, all he’s left with is a lingering OxyContin addiction and a hunger for something—anything—but the life he’s known.

His only escape has been in the form of his favorite video game—World of Warcraft—and the one true friend who makes him feel understood, even if it’s just online. Dylan met Arden playing Warcraft, and now he wants to take her on a real mission, one he never thought he’d live to set out on: a journey to a mysterious ship in the middle of the Salton Sea.

But Arden is fighting her own battles, ones that Dylan can’t always help her win. As they navigate their way west, they grapple with Arden’s father (who refuses to recognize his daughter’s true gender), Dylan’s addiction, and the messy, complicated romance fighting so hard to blossom through the cracks of their battle-hardened hearts.

Saturday, April 8, 2017

A SEASON OF DARING GREATLY by Ellen Emerson White | Review

30256108
A SEASON OF DARING GREATLY
Publisher: Greenwillow Books (An imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)
Publish Date: February 14th 2017
Page Amount: 432 Pages
Price: $17.99 Hardback
ISBN: 0062463217 (ISBN13: 9780062463210)



When eighteen-year-old Jill Cafferty makes history as the first woman to be signed by a major league team, she goes head-to-head against coaches, players, and fans who are determined to keep baseball an all-male sport. The first step? Proving she’s talented enough to be there. An engrossing story about defying conventions and living up to impossible expectations, for fans of John Corey Whaley and Catherine Gilbert Murdock.

Jill Cafferty just made history as the first woman signed by an MLB team, joining the Pittsburgh Pirates’ Triple-A affiliate only days after high school graduation. Despite the reassurances of coaches and managers alike, not everyone is happy to have her there. A few of her teammates are giving her trouble, making crude jokes and claiming there’s no way she can play at this level. The media presence following Jill at each of her games adds to her own misgivings about choosing pro baseball over a normal college experience. And to top it all off, Jill is struggling with the responsibilities of being a national hero and a role model for young women everywhere. How can she be a role model when she’s not even sure she made the right choice for herself? Featuring a strong female character trying to mark out a place for herself in a male-dominated world, this literary and accessible book is a great choice for fans of John Corey Whaley and Catherine Gilbert Murdock.

Cover image, synopsis, and other information about the book taken from Goodreads.